Education Outreach and Partnerships Banner


Main Office

Education Outreach and Partnerships
School of Education
Teacher Education Building
225 N. Mills Street - Suite 264
MadisonWI  53706-1691

Tel: 608/263-5140
Fax: 608/265-4309

or by contact form

EOP News

School of Education Welcomes Historic Group of New Faculty

August 23, 2012

Students in the School of Education will see plenty of new faces at the front of their classrooms this year. With 18 professors coming on board, the school is set to welcome the largest group of new faculty hires in its 82-year history.

"Our academic departments have attracted a tremendous pool of new talent,"says Dean Julie Underwood. "Each candidate brings an exceptional record of teaching, research and service, and I am confident that they will be valuable assets to the school, our students and our partners."

Two of the new hires are tenured professors in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction.

Gay Ivey, the Tashia F. Morgridge Chair in Reading, began her career in education as a middle school reading specialist in Albemarle County, Va., and held positions at Rutgers University and the University of Maryland at College Park before joining the James Madison University as an associate professor of reading education in 2001. She focuses her research on the development of productive and motivating classrooms for struggling young adolescent readers.

Maisha T. Winn, the Susan J. Cellmer Chair in English Education, is a former public elementary and high school teacher who has worked extensively with youth in urban schools andelsewhere throughout the United States. Her work spans the ethnohistory of African-American readers, writers and speakers of the Black Arts Movement to the intersection of arts and literacy in the lives of incarcerated and formerly incarcerated girls.

The school also welcomes the following new faculty (by department):

  • Art: Assistant Professor Gerit Grimm
  • Counseling Psychology: Assistant Professor Francisco Sánchez
  • Curriculum and Instruction: Assistant Professors Leema Berland, Matthew Berland, Rosemary Russ and Travis Wright
  • Educational Leadership and Policy Analysis: Assistant Professors Peter Goff and Rachelle Winkle-Wagner
  • Educational Policy Studies: Assistant Professors Bianca Baldridge and Erica Turner
  • Educational Psychology: Assistant Professors Ed Hubbard, Percival Matthews and Haley Vlach
  • Kinesiology,Occupational Therapy Program: Assistant Professor Karla Ausderau
  • Rehabilitation Psychology and Special Education: Assistant Professors Bonnie Doren and Andrea Ruppar

View a complete list of new faculty members with abbreviated descriptions of their experience and expertise

Underwood will acknowledge the incoming class of new faculty at the school's Fall Welcome on Wednesday, Aug. 29, from 12:30 - 2 p.m. on the rear terrace of the Education Building, 1000 Bascom Mall. The dean will deliver her remarks at 1 p.m.

© 2018 Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System • Please contact the School of Education External Relations Office with questions, issues or comments about this site.